The Countdown Begins!

day1otlk_1300“Game on” today out west, which signals a turn toward spring weather and our upcoming departure!  Please see the attached packing list for the trip, and make sure you put your kit together well in advance of the trip.  If you plan to bring a camera, videocam, etc., make sure you become very familiar with its operation, and you know how to quickly use it in low-light conditions.  For example, I filmed a great storm out the window of the van years ago, only to find out later that the auto-focus gave me a great picture of the raindrops on the window instead of the tornado outside.  I can laugh about it now, but at the time I can assure you I was not amused!

Packing:  it is absolutely imperative that everyone pack light.  The vans are laden with technology, and everything else must be packed in the back so that we have a clear route in and out of the vehicles in case we have to move in a hurry.  Pack light!  A 12″ x 24″ duffle/gym bag w/ shoulder strap is perfect. packing list

Departure Information: 

Trip 1: will depart from the Surge Parking Lot on campus at 9:00am on Monday, May 18.  Initial return date will be Friday, May 29.  Keep in mind that if the pattern is active, we may opt to extend our stay a day or two (we aren’t leaving a Moderate Risk in the TX Panhandle behind!), so keep your schedule open for an additional couple of days beyond the planned return date.

Trip 2: will depart from the Surge Parking Lot on campus at 9:00am on Monday, June 1.  Initial return date will be Friday, June 12.  Again, please keep your schedule open a couple of days beyond the planned return date in the event we extend the trip.

I will send out more information via e-mail to the crew as departure approaches.  Seven weeks and counting…

-Dave

3 responses to “The Countdown Begins!

  1. Is it in television or YouTube? Very interested. I’m 17 right now and I graduate next year and I plan on going to Virginia Tech and my future career is Meteorology. I love the weather and all I watch is the weather channel. In the morning when I get up I turn the TV on and I put channel 12 on or the weather channel and I sit and watch it with a cup of coffee. I’m in love with the weather. Please email me more information when you are available. No rush!

    • You can follow along on this site and our Facebook page (hokie storm chasers), we will be on the road from May 18 through June 12. Feel free to contact me (carrolld@vt.edu) and I can give you info on our department, the meteorology program, and of course studying severe storms. -Dave Carroll

  2. I was wondering if you ever thought off changing the layout of
    your blog? Its very well written;I love what youve got tto say.
    But maybe yyou could a little more in the way off conyent so people could
    connect with it better. Youve got an awful lot of text for
    only having 1 or two pictures. Maybe you could space
    it oout better?

Leave a Reply

